Thursday, 15 May 2014

The Falklands War: timeline

Key dates in the Falklands War, which claimed the lives of 255 British and 649 Argentine servicemen during three months of fighting.

April 2, 1982: Argentine forces invade Falkland Islands, entering capital Port Stanley and forcing Governor Rex Hunt to surrender.
April 3, 1982: Invasion condemned by UN Security Council.
April 5, 1982: British task force of more than 100 ships sets sail for Falklands, including aircraft carriers HMS Hermes and HMS Invincible. Lord Carrington, the Foreign Secretary, resigns over the invasion and is replaced by Francis Pym.
April 25, 1982: South Georgia is retaken by Royal Marines. Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher refuses to answer questions from the press on the operation, saying: “Just rejoice at that news and congratulate our forces and the marines.”
April 30, 1982: Task force arrives in 200-mile exclusion zone surrounding Falklands. Read more HERE